ENDURING THE RACE (Part 1 of 3)

The first quarter of this year has gone, and I am left with a sobering sense of disbelief that four months of this year have gone by. Not because I feel like time was moving fast or this year is zooming by, but because in each month I stopped, I reflected, I sat in the days, but it never felt satisfying. I’ve realized that it never felt comforting to be in the start of this New Year. I don’t know how else to explain it really, I think I have been feeling so stretched and uncomfortable in this new season that I haven’t embraced it for what it is.

I have been challenged this year to re-understand just what it is I am doing and who I am. In working through that re-discovery I have found that I am re-learning three fundamental things; love, hope and faith. (And I’ll probably be re-learning these things all throughout my life as I grow and transition.) But for now I wanted share about my lessons of hope.

HOPE

Do you ever ask how? I do all the time… “but how God?” How am I supposed to walk this out and obey you and endure? How am I supposed to be in a place and not “feel” good? He answers me and comforts me in His word. Hebrews 12:2 specifically says “to look to Jesus, the founder (he did it first!) and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy that was set before him, endured the cross, despising shame, and is seated at the right hand of God. It’s a humbling reminder and encouraging thought to know that God created our faith. Like when you think of that it can really change your perspective in your situations. For me, it’s given me hope. Hope that Jesus, who suffered and was in the most uncomfortable and treacherous place, willingly walked out that purpose and is now seated at the right hand of God. I know that in my situations, which pale in comparison, that if I willingly walk out my purpose I will fulfill my destiny.

My hope is in Jesus. That He will return, that He has done great things. That He is the example of great love. This helps me in every circumstance I face.  So, when faced to be brave, when faced with calamity, when faced to be faithful to God, I have to turn to the place where I put my hope, and that helps me to endure and to get through.

Of course I am human and I still continue to ask God why? And, here I am the fifth month of this new year, faced with challenges big and small, surrounded by clouds of witnesses, and it doesn’t feel comfortable. It doesn’t even feel familiar and some days I have no idea how I will make it through, but thank God for Jesus. I look to Him for inspiration in my race. To face these challenges and to continue to walk on for the hope of seeing Him one day.

#faith #hope #love #race #f1rsts

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. Just one word: Beautiful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

