KNOW JUSTICE, KNOW PEACE

There is so much that happens in our world and in our communities, even in our homes, every single day. Sometimes it becomes so unsettling that we have to call outside attention and mass focus to the issue because the change that we want cannot be achieved by ourselves…

That thought to me is the root of my passions, it’s the foundation of who I believe God calls us to be as the church and it has been my thought these last couple of days…”we have to work together to see change”[1 Corinthians 12 really paints a beautiful picture of this]…

There is a thought I have that comes from a quote, it resonates with the idea that; when your greatest talent meets the world’s greatest need this is where you find your purpose. It’s the cross…it’s justice… Jesus met the world’s greatest need head on and gave His life for it…that was the greatest act of justice I have ever heard of. And now we have the opportunity, especially in such a time as this where there is not only so much hurt, but so much injustice to meet that hurt and injustice head on.

I was sitting with family the other day talking about the recent situations and what was going on and what needed to be done, and at first I was quiet in the conversation. Quiet because my thoughts were not the same as theirs. In fact, my thoughts since I viewed the first horrific video recently of a young man being shot several times after being detained by a police officer, have not been as similar to most memes, Facebook posts, or other social media messages that I have been reading lately. Don’t get me wrong I have felt pain, hurt, disbelief, shock, and anger, but I felt like an other, like a minority like I would be judged so hard for what I was feeling. Because in all actuality, while I was upset, I felt like this was such a great opportunity for hope. If never before, this time right now, God can show up in such a way that we know that it was only by His power that justice was restored. I was HOPEFUL. I am HOPEFUL, and I don’t know if my response is one that is being pushed out to be heard.

You see I have this deep sense and belief that this in fact is just another opportunity for us to put our passions to work, to put our skills to use and to bring those God given purposes right to the edge and to the very brink of the pain and suffering, and then healing can begin in our communities and in this nation. Then a corrupt system will be rebuilt. Then  things will be spelled out for exactly how they are; no political censorship or national shame or economic greed will hide the systematic injustice done to groups of people in this country not if we stand up and fight to not let it.

I do believe we need change. I do believe that a system cannot protect who it was never intended to defend, but that does not mean that that system cannot be changed. In fact my greatest hope lies in Christ that His kingdom will come, and how it will come is through His body (church) coming together regardless of their function; be it the hands or the feet, to work out their faith and to build the kingdom right here on earth as it is in heaven.

I know Justice (Romans 3:26), I know peace(Ephesians 2:14)…at least I strive everyday to know Christ more and I have the balls to believe that He can show up so fiercely in these situations if we fix our eyes on Him and walk in whatever calling he has intended for us to walk in during these times. The revolution will be televised those who say that are right, but the Gospel has a place in all of this and I wonder who will be focusing on that….

“For nation will rise against nation, and kingdom against kingdom, and there will be famines and earthquakes in various places. All these are but the beginning of the birth pains. “Then they will deliver you up to tribulation and put you to death, and you will be hated by all nations for my name’s sake. 10 And then many will fall away[a] and betray one another and hate one another. 11 And many false prophets will arise and lead many astray. 12 And because lawlessness will be increased, the love of many will grow cold. 13 But the one who endures to the end will be saved. 14 And this gospel of the kingdom will be proclaimed throughout the whole world as a testimony to all nations, and then the end will come.” -Matthew 24:7-14

#seekHimF1rst

-Adesola

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. This was well written. I agree with you in saying that this is a time for Hope. God will show Himself mighty in all these things that are negatively affecting our community. We have to do our part. If we do the possible God will do the impossible. A change has to come!

    Like

Leave a Reply

